The Cult Announce ‘Sonic Temple’ UK Tour Dates

The Cult have announced the reissue of their fourth studio album ‘Sonic Temple’ on its 30th anniversary and head out on a UK tour to perform it in full.

Ian Astbury, Billy Duffy and co. play a total of 10 shows on the A Sonic Temple tour kicking off at Nottingham Rock City on Tuesday 15th October and wrapping up at Portsmouth Guildhall two weeks later. Together with playing ‘Sonic Temple’ in full, The Cult will also be playing other classic songs from their distinguished back catalogue.

On 13th September, a deluxe box-set and 5-CD versions of the 1989 album, entitled ‘The Cult: Sonic Temple 30′ will be released and contain limited-release demos and previously unreleased tracks. “We wanted to retain our core DNA as we went deeper into psych and hard rock influences,” Ian Astbury has remembered in a recent interview. “It was a complete immersion for me into art, film, music, poetry and literature, weaving those influences into what was to become Sonic Temple. The band was becoming more popular. We were in uncharted waters.”

See The Cult at the following UK shows:

October 2019

15 – Nottingham, Rock City
17 – Birmingham, O2 Academy
18 – Cardiff, Great Hall
20 – Leeds, O2 Academy
21 – Aberdeen, Live Music Hall
22 – Glasgow, O2 Academy
24 – Manchester, O2 Apollo
27 – London, Hammersmith Apollo
28 – Bristol, O2 Academy
29 – Portsmouth, Guildhall

Tickets go on general sale on Friday 5th July.

Check out the video for ‘Fire Woman’ from The Cult’s 1989 album ‘Sonic Temple’.