Pixies Announce UK Tour Dates for September

Alt rock legends the Pixies have announced UK tour dates in support of a forthcoming album due for release in September.

After celebrating the 30th anniversary of their seminal debut album, ‘Surfer Rosa’, Alt rockers the Pixies are heading out across the UK for nine dates in September. The tour will coincide with the release of a new album marking the second for this incarnation of Pixies’ lineup — Joey Santiago (guitars), Black Francis (vocals/guitars), David Lovering (drums), and Paz Lenchantin (bass/vocals) — and the eighth overall for the band following 2016’s ‘Head Carrier’.

The Pixies have been around for over 30 years after forming in Boston when Joey Santiago and Black Francis met at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. Together they have put out six studio albums and achieved worldwide fandom for their surreal lyrics and alt rock/noise pop sounds.

Following an acrimonious split in 1993 the Pixies reunited over a decade later, and while the band are set to release their seventh album in September, those attending the 2019 tour dates will no doubt hear legendary hits likes ‘Gouge Away’, ‘Here Comes Your Man’, ‘Debaser’, ‘Hey’, ‘Vamos’ and more with a few modern surprises thrown in the mix.

The Pixies 2019 tour dates are as follows:

September 2019

13 – Cardiff, Motorpoint Arena
14 – Plymouth, Pavillions
16 – Birmingham, Academy
17 – Leeds,  O2 Academy
18 – Manchester, O2 Apollo
20 – London, Alexandra Palace
21 – Newcastle, O2 Academy
22 – Glasgow, O2 Academy
23 – Edinburgh, Usherhall

Tickets go on general sale from Friday 5th April via See Tickets and Ticketmaster.

Check out the official music video for the single ‘Tenement Song’ taken from the Pixies 2016 album ‘Head Carrier’.